This forum uses cookies
This forum makes use of cookies to store your login information if you are registered, and your last visit if you are not. Cookies are small text documents stored on your computer; the cookies set by this forum can only be used on this website and pose no security risk. Cookies on this forum also track the specific topics you have read and when you last read them. Please confirm whether you accept or reject these cookies being set.

A cookie will be stored in your browser regardless of choice to prevent you being asked this question again. You will be able to change your cookie settings at any time using the link in the footer.

GPS Data Corruption in XLS Format for Longer Measurements
Question 
I am a high school teacher from Japan. Thank you for developing phyphox. In my classes, it's an indispensable tool for small-scale experiments.

Issues:

When saving long-duration GPS measurements as xls, the file gets corrupted.
I instruct my students to analyze the GPS data and then upload it to Google Drive and work on it in Google Spreadsheets.
Data for about 10 minutes seems to display without issues, and I had no problems in my preliminary tests.
However, I've received reports from some students that their files are corrupted and can't be opened on Google Drive. One student's file had about 900 rows of data. When I downloaded it on a Windows PC and repaired the file in Excel, it was restored to normal.
I'm hoping for an output file format that won't get corrupted.
If immediate improvements are challenging, could you provide information on how much data or duration might lead to this issue?

Looking forward to further developments of phyphox. Thank you. Smile
Thank you for the report. The data is exported to the old binary Excel format that has some issues, however, the amount of data appears to be far from its limits (we have received reports about the 65k something row limit in .xls files).